2015.08.26: peekaboo

If I say, “Surely darkness shall hide me,
and night shall be my light” – Ps 139:11

as an infant
i cover my eyes
with my hands
looking to hide
from my mother
yet she sees me
and loves me

as a grownup
i cover myself
with the dirt of the world
and filth of my own making
until i can no longer
recognize myself
yet you still know
who i am
and you still love me

i can still almost hear
my mother calling us children
to come inside from the dark
or is that you
calling me to come home
to your waiting arms

Leave a Reply

