2015.08.23: unworthy host

As a result of this, many of his disciples returned to their former way of life and no longer accompanied him. – Jn 6:66

i am sorry, Lord
i have received you
unworthily. i may have
followed the rituals
prescribed but i did
not allow you to
transform me into
you. the priest can
transform the bread
but i am the only priest
that can transform me

forgive me, my Savior
for each time i ate your
flesh and drank your
blood yet went back
to my former life as
if nothing transpired
as did my ancestors in
the desert who ate manna
from heaven and yet
remained far from you

o holy spirit, give me
the courage to lay down
my life on the altar
and put on the Servant
as for me and my house,
i will serve the Lord.
please do not let me
be an unworthy host

Leave a Reply

