2015.08.17: bare minimum

Jesus said to him, “If you wish to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” – Mt 19:21

you know from the start
the love that was NOT in my heart
you saw that i did not love God
i feared his punishment instead
i just wanted to do the bare minimum
only enough to get me through the gates
yet you were so kind and patient
you did not rebuke me
you did not accuse me of my sin
you merely offered a correction
you asked me to give up my possessions
you were asking me to give up my idol
you were asking me instead to put God first
you knew that i would not do it
because i did not love God
you knew that my love of wealth
was greater than my fear of God
so i turned away sad
before i could see your tears
you understood too well
i just wanted to do the bare minimum

Leave a Reply

