2015.02.18: a lenten prayer

Behold, now is a very acceptable time;
behold, now is the day of salvation. 2 Cor 6:2

gracious Father,
here i am on my knees
at the foot of the altar
as i begin this journey
of forty days
look not upon my past sins
or my future failings
but on the goodness
of your only begotten Son,
Jesus, who is my Savior

thank you, Father
for the grace
to know that my cross
is to do your will
in your boundless mercy
please grant me
the wisdom
to know your will
the humility
to accept your will
and the courage
to do your will

Jesus, stay with me
for i know that it is only
with you,
in you,
and through you
can i hope to bear this cross

Leave a Reply

