2015.02.11: broken pottery

the LORD God formed man out of the clay of the ground
and blew into his nostrils the breath of life,
and so man became a living being. – Gen 2:7

from the clay of the ground
you formed me
with your very breath
you gave me life
into the kiln of the world
you placed me
through the trials of fire
you tempered me

all was good until
i learned of good and evil
i learned to judge
myself and others
i took pride in my beauty
and envied others theirs
until self loathing defiled me
and i cracked into many pieces

yet you didn’t throw me
into the rubbish heap
you still saw beauty
in my brokenness
so with loving care
you gathered my broken body
and with compassion
you poured yourself into me
until i became whole again
better then newly formed
for where the cracks were
your love now shines through

Leave a Reply

