2015.02.08: standard of the cross

Rising very early before dawn, he left and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed. Mk 1:35

you could have stayed and revelled in the fame
you could have stayed and made your family happy
it would have been easy to turn rock into food
it would have been easy to fly from the parapet
it would have been easy to become ruler of the world

instead
you came to meet me in my deserted place
you came to teach me to pray
you came to be the way to our Father
you came to carry the cross and die for me
you came so that i could have abundant life

all i can do is say thank you and yes
i will pick up my cross and follow your standard
remain with me always, Lord

Leave a Reply

