2015.02.07: heart of God

When Jesus disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, for they were like sheep without a shepherd; and he began to teach them many things. Mk 6:34

when i pledged you my heart
you didn’t tell me that it would be this way
you didn’t tell me that i would look into the eyes of the lost
you didn’t tell me that i would hear the silence of desperation
you didn’t tell me that i would smell the odor of the unwashed
you didn’t tell me that i would taste the bitterness of being wrongly judged
you didn’t tell me that i would feel the track of my tears
you didn’t tell me that my heart would be moved with pity
you didn’t tell me that my soul would well up with compassion
you didn’t tell me that i would love the sinner in myself
teach, my Shepherd, i’m listening
i know your voice and i will follow

Leave a Reply

