2015.01.21: a changed heart

Looking around at them with anger and grieved at their hardness of heart, he said to the man, “Stretch out your hand.” He stretched it out and his hand was restored. Mk 3:5

who do you think you are, Christ? welcoming
the sinners, the tax collectors, the deformed,
the lepers, and all the other unwanted. surely
you know that heaven is only for the perfect;
those that follow the laws, tithe one tenth,
and keep the sabbath. keeping the traditions
and safeguarding the Temple that houses
the Covenant is what keeps God protecting
us. how dare you risk all that?

how do you do it, Lord? i came seeking you in the
synagogue on the sabbath. you acknowledged me when
the others didn’t even though i was once counted
among their company. you healed me of my afflictions
and forgave me my sins. you poured out your love into
a heart once hardened. i am a rebuilt temple of your
new Covenant. all that you ask is for me to love you,
my neighbors, and myself. my heart aches that you
died for me. i am grateful for the freedom to love.

Leave a Reply

