2015.01.02: Begin with the end

Has another year already gone by? They seem to come and go so much faster. Time seems like a ball gaining speed as it rolls downhill.

As I observe another birthday, I know that I’ve already passed my half-life point. There’s no reason to be happy or sad. It’s just a fact of life, but it does give me pause to ponder. What were the highlights of this past year? What were the low points? What gave me joy? What challenged me? What lies ahead?

It brings me to one of my favorite psychological principle – the Pygmalion Effect and a corollary of it:

Begin with the end in mind. Stephen Covey

In my younger days, the “ends” were academic honors, professional achievements, social status, or material wealth. These days the “end” for me is simple: peace of mind, serenity of spirit, and a heart open to God’s love. That’s what gives me joy.

Leave a Reply

